Skip links

Malaysia | Putrajaya City

Covering an area of 49 km2, Putrajaya (officially the Federal Territory of Putrajaya) is home to 109,900 people (2020). It is a planned city that functions as the administrative capital and the judicial capital of Malaysia. The seat of the Federal Government of Malaysia was shifted in 1999 from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya because of overcrowding and congestion in the former, whilst the seat of the judiciary of Malaysia was later shifted to Putrajaya in 2003 (Official website).

Return to top of page