Skip links

E-Newsletter – September 2020

Snapshot of GCoM/IUC Activities in South East Asia

The Global Covenant of Mayors for Climate Change and Energy (GCoM) is the largest global alliance for city climate leadership, built upon the commitment of over 10,000 cities and local governments to reach an annual emission reduction of 2.3 billion tons CO2 by 2030. With more than half of the world’s populations living in cities and contributing around 70% of the energy-related greenhouse gas emissions, cities’ involvement is crucial to make it happen.

With the support from the European Union through its International Urban Cooperation (IUC) programme, the GCoM Southeast Asia Secretariat/IUC Asia HelpDesk (the HelpDesk) managed by the United Cities and Local Governments Asia-Pacific (UCLG ASPAC), encourages Southeast Asian cities to join the alliance and select thirteen cities to receive technical assistance as pilot cities to develop their own globally-recognised Climate Action Plans (CAPs) in compliance with GCoM’s Common Reporting Framework (CRF). The pilot cities are comprised of Palembang, Depok, Malang, Denpasar and Makassar in Indonesia, Kampung Baru, Penampang, Tawau, Muar and Hang Tuah Jaya in Malaysia and Tam Ky, Da Nang and Can Tho in Vietnam.

The HelpDesk, supported by its technical partners, assists the pilot cities in developing CAPs that show the cities’ commitments to address climate change by reducing GHGs emissions, adapting to the impacts of climate change, and delivering wider social, environmental, and economic benefits. The technical assistance is comprised of step-by-step training and knowledge sharing on how to develop each essential component of a CAP namely baseline GHG emissions inventory, target setting, risk and vulnerability assessment, energy access plan, monitoring/verification, and climate finance options/implementation. The CAPs are expected to be accomplished in September 2020 and become references for replication in other GCoM cities.

The technical partners – CCROM-IPB in Indonesia, UTM in Malaysia and UN Habitat in Vietnam – introduced the following stages in developing the CAPs for pilot cities: facilitating each pilot city to establish a climate-change working group comprised of city stakeholders; strengthening each pilot city in developing GHG inventory; carrying out the risk and vulnerability assessment and applying the guidance in CAP development; and providing technical assistance in the development of the city’s GHG inventory, risk and vulnerability assessment, target setting and finally the CAP development.  …   [read more]

Join the Discussion

Return to top of page